Joy is a Choice

I don’t know about you, but Mondays can be hard around here. The house is often recovering from the weekend. We miss having Daddy with us all day. We have a hard time getting back into our usual routine. Some of us are cranky and tired.

I was reminded today, though, that God desires for us to have joy, even on Mondays. 😉

He gives the barren woman a home, making her the joyous mother of children. Praise the LORD! Psalm 113:9

In her book “Seasons of a Mother’s Heart”, Sally Clarkson speaks about this Monday morning phenomenon that happens in my home once a week. :). I need to choose joy.

There is a tension that God is asking me to acknowledge and accept- the tension between ideals and reality. True joy is found by living somewhere between the “ideal life” and “daily realities.” That is where Jesus meets me, where His Holy Spirit empowers, and where I learn how to live the Christian life with supernatural joy.

To me, to celebrate life is simply a choice. Every day God extends his hand to offer me the gift of another day to live. I have the choice to take that gift and turn it into 24 hours of real life in Christ, or just let it become another 24 hours lived in a broken world. If I choose to accept it-to transform those minutes and hours into life lived for and with my Savior-I have the opportunity to see God at work, enjoy his presence, wonder at his creation, appreciate the expressions of his beauty and love, and touch the minds and hearts of my children with his reality. That’s certainly what I desire, but it is a choice I have to make.

…the. Homeschooling lifestyle is your best opportunity for celebrating life as God meant it to be. If you make the choice, it can become a journey of joy!

May we as mothers choose to display the joy of the Lord, even on days when things aren’t going the way we wish it would. Even in the tough places when it’s hard and tiring to be a loving mother to our children. May we choose to be thankful and content. May be glorify the Lord through our countenance, even on Mondays! 😉

“Be joyful always; pray continually; give thanks in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.” 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18

Update: check out this link to Raising Homemakers. Very relevant to this subject!

-Beth

Find this post helpful? Subscribe to Acorns and Oaks and you’ll get an email when there’s a new post up! Go to the top of this page and click on “subscribe“.

4 responses to this post.

  1. I need to choose joy in my caregiving to my mother also. It is hard to remember to “give thanks in all circumstances.” Bone weary or not, be thankful! God bless you, Beth! Thank you for sharing your thoughts and for linking up at Women of Noble Character.

    Reply

  2. I choose joy, too. I’ve also learned it is a choice. It’s amazing the blessings that fall when the right choice is made.

    Joyfully,
    Pamela

    Reply

Leave a Reply

