My “Are you sure these are gluten free, Mom?” Pancake Recipe

Cooking gluten free is a challenge. One of the first things I did when we needed to go gluten free again several months ago was make a list of foods we eat regularly and enjoy. I was determined to find or create yummy gluten-free recipes for these. Among the yummy, formally gluteny things on my list was: pancakes . Now that my family agrees that I have perfected my recipe, I thought I would post it and share it with you. One of the things I love about gluten free pancakes is that it is one of the few gf recipes where you do not have to use xanthan gum 🙂

Beth’s “Are You Sure These Are Gluten Free, Mom?” Pancakes

My flour blend was inspired by the flour blend at Gluten Free Cooking School, but I have made some modifications. The flour blend is, I believe, the key to this recipe. I use this flour blend in most of my baking now. I do add in some nutritious flours sometimes,such as teff, or flax seed meal, but this is the basic blend) It is:

3 parts rice flour (half white rice, half brown rice)
3 parts potato starch
2 parts soy flour (or sorghum)
1 part almond meal

Recipe:

2 cups GF flour blend
2 Tbsp. Sugar or sucanat
3 tsp. Baking powder
1 tsp. Baking soda
3/4 tsp. Salt

Mix together. Add:

2 cups buttermilk (or 1 1/2 cups non-dairy sub plus 1/2 tbsp vinegar to sour)
2 eggs
1/4 cup oil

Pour wet ingredients into dry. Mix until just blended. Fry on a hot skillet. Yummy!

Happy to participate in Like a Bubbling Brook’s Biblical Womanhood Link-up


-Beth

3 responses to this post.

  1. Beth, we’ve considered going GF for last couple months. The more recipes like this that I come across, the more I think maybe we can do it 🙂

    Thanks for linking up to Biblical Womanhood Friday!

    Reply

    • Jaime, I’m glad you enjoyed the post. Thanks for the great link-up and thanks so much for stopping by! Beth

      Reply

  2. […] My “Are you sure these are gluten free, Mom?” Pancake Recipe (acornsandoaks.wordpress.com) […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

