Color Coding for Sanity

In our house, we use color coding to keep things more organized and keep mom more sane ;). Each child has his or her own color. We started with plates, since it makes it easier when serving for everyone to know whose plate is whose. Then I found cups with the same colors. This is my favorite area to color code. Instead of going through many cups throughout the day because no one can remember which cup is theirs, each child know which cup belongs to them because their cup is always blue (or yellow, or green, etc.). Color coding has simplified our mealtime routines. The kids also have sport cups in their color for taking water with us in the car, outside, or on trips.

Now we have extended the color coding concept to towels. I am excited about this, because now I will know who is and is NOT handing up their towel. I bought two towels for each child in their color.

I love color coding. It helps me stay more focused and organized. The most difficult thing about it is finding the items you want in the right colors. This is where it pays to be patient! Keep checking the kitchen (or bath) sections of the stores you usually visit.

I realize this may be more difficult the more children you have. (We have four). However, the cups we bought came in big sizes and small, so I can see how you might be able to assign the same color to a little kid and his or her “buddy” or older sibling. Even just color coding the little ones would make a big difference!

Color coding works for me! Give it a try and see if it works for you!

Beth

Find this post helpful? Subscribe to Acorns and Oaks and you’ll get an email when there’s a new post up! Go to the top of this page and click on “subscribe“.

I am pleased to link this post to WFMW over at We Are THAT Family

and Simple Homemaking at Raising Arrows

10 responses to this post.

  1. Brilliant!! I love this idea… we’ll definitely be putting it to good use while we’re all home for the summer. I only have 2 kids; letting them pick their colors will be fun. 🙂

    I came over from WFMW.

    Reply

  2. I LOVE this!!! We use paper plates though….hmm….wonder which would give me more sanity? Oh, the choices…. 🙂

    Reply

    • We used to use paper alot before we got these. These are easy for the kids to pick up and take to the sink, or even put in the dishwasher. They are very lightweight, so I find myself using these much more than paper. We often will use paper on Sundays still though. 🙂

      Reply

  3. I do this also! My reason is I have 3 boys, all born 16 months apart from each other. 3 boys so close in age this really is a necessity and it does work!! They love “their colors”!

    Nice blog all around!!

    Reply

    • Kendra, it’s amazing how the little things can make your life as a mom easier. It always makes me think “why didn’t I think of this before??” Thanks for the encouragement!

      Reply

  4. Posted by Karen on April 7, 2011 at 12:24 am

    I have been doing this since my 2 oldest were little. It does get harder the more add. I have 7. Ikea has small plates, cups, & bowls that we use for lunches. That helps alot. I made a prayer chart for my children using their colors so they know whose turn it is to pray. 🙂 I was even able to carry the color coding over into school. I have to hunt around sometimes but I can usually find notebooks and such in the colors that we need. This is such a great post for younger moms to read. It truly does save our sanity.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Amanda on April 13, 2011 at 10:06 pm

    My mother also color coded! Same colors too. We had everything in our colors. Lunch boxes, backpacks, notebooks, pens and pencils, even chairs! What she couldn’t find in our color she marked with our color, applying nail polish or marker to as needed. It worked great until “Mr. Nobdy” (our imaginary friend) moved in.
    Thanks!

    Reply

  6. We do color coding in the kitchen as much as possible too. Where did you get those plates though? I found some non-divded ones at Wal-mart (after a lesson on ecology= no more paper plates) but they are cheaper and flaking off the plastic. Thanks!

    Reply

  7. Jill, I got the plates at Target. I have been very happy with them. I did start out with a set of divided plates from WalMart, and those have held up just fine.

    Reply

  8. I do all sorts of color coding as well! It is definitely a nice way to keep track of things. In fact, I really should do more of it! Love the towels!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

