Scripture Memory in a Box

We use a system for scripture memory that I really love. I got the idea from Simply Charlotte Mason. Each day you and your children recite 4 verses: a new verse for the week, and three verses to review. I like it because it’s adaptable to different ages and different families. You choose the verses you want your children to memorize.

If you want to focus on certain character traits, you can use your concordance or other reference such as For Instructions in Righteousness by Doorposts. For example, one of the first verses I put in our box was Proverbs 29:11:

A fool gives full vent to his anger, but a wise man keeps himself under contol.

(This has been a particularly helpful verse for one of my children who shall remain anonymous ;)

Or, you can use this system to learn and review scripture from the curriculum you’re using. We have done this as well.

The Scripture Memory in a Box an easy way to work on scripture memorization, since we leave it on the kitchen table and do it after lunch. The key is to remember to do it! (not that I ever have trouble remembering ;) ).

To start your own box, here is what you need:

Index cards
Index card box
Tabbed dividers (I used two packs of ABC tabs) update: SCM website below has free printable divider templates!
A pen
A bible

And here are the directions you need to assemble your Scripture Memory in a Box: SCM Scripture Memory.

Update: Check out my friend Angela’s beautiful scripture memory box over at Angela’s Sewing for Sanity. She is so crafty!

-Beth

Find this post helpful? Subscribe to Acorns and Oaks and you’ll get an email when there’s a new post up! Go to the top of this page and click on “subscribe“.

I am please to link this article to WFMW over at We Are THAT Family

And

8 responses to this post.

  1. Love this idea! We’ve memorized verses before, but I like your organizational system! Thanks for the WFMW idea!

    Reply

  2. love it! I’m not able to see the directions though….

    Reply

    • Did you try clicking on the “scripture memory in a box” link at the end of the post, right before the picture? I’ll try to make this more obvious. Beth :)

      Reply

      • Thanks a bunch….yesterday it didn’t work….today it did! I picked up the supplies today. I’m sharing this on my blog!

  3. Posted by Sarah on June 11, 2011 at 5:38 pm

    Thanks so much for this post. Getting started on it TODAY!! Whoo hoo!

    Reply

    • Sarah, you are so welcome. I ‘m so happy you thought it a good enough idea to try yourself. Let me know how it turns out!

      Reply

  4. Very, Very cool! Good idea :)

    Reply

  5. I use this method also and love it! I like that it keeps the older verses that you have memorized in the rotation so they don’t slip away!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

